Club Marine Fremantle Harbour Classic 2020 (100 Years of FSC)

Fremantle Harbour was brought to life with some of the State’s biggest racing boats on display showcasing their skills and daring manoeuvres in the annual Club Marine Fremantle Harbour Classic. This was a fantastic event that showcased exceptional sailing and excitement at every turn!

History of the Event

This event has great historical significance considering that the first yacht was introduced after World War II, back in 1946 – the first year of the traditional Challenge Race. The race was contested by entrants from both Fremantle Sailing Club and East Fremantle Yacht Club (formerly Melville Yacht Club). In December 1947, discussions took place between the two clubs and the Rockingham Progress Association which resulted in the birth of this fantastic event now known as the Fremantle Harbour Classic.

A perpetual trophy made from the binnacle off the SS Sultan, the first steamship into Fremantle Harbour, was introduced and carries the names of the winners since 1991. The Port was the body of water Fremantle Sailing Club (FSC) called home previous to its current location. FSC is adjacent to the world-famous Gage Roads where the 1987 America’s Cup was held. The race has both tradition and history.

Legends & Young Guns

1st Yacht – HUCKLEBERRY Phil Somerville Ryan

2nd Yacht – WYUNA Dennis Vincent/Hilary Arthure

3rd Yacht – SWAGMAN Andrew & Vera Waldby