2021 Australian Sailing WA Awards

Fremantle Sailing Club is excited to announce our recent achievements at the 2021 Australian Sailing WA Awards. Representatives from the Club attended the awards held on Thursday 30 September and were thrilled with the announcements acknowledging the category winners from our Club including:


Female Sailor of the Year – Nia Jerwood & Monique de Vries

Nia and Monique represented Australia at the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games. The team had results in the top ten and outstanding upwind speed throughout the competition, showing consistency over a range of challenging weather conditions. Both ladies were present at the awards night and accepted it with great honour.


Male Sailor of the Year – Matt Wearn

Jointly nominated by Fremantle Sailing Club and Royal Perth Yacht Club, Matt gave an outstanding performance winning Gold with a race to spare at this year’s 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games in the Men’s Laser Class. Matthew showed strong resilience, fighting back to finish inside the top four in six races after facing a challenging start.


Sports Promotion of the Year – Fremantle to Exmouth Yacht Race & Rally 

Commodore Phil Hearse and CEO Karen Baldwin gladly accepted the medal on behalf of the Club and were joined by Race Committee Members Mike Giles, Cam Berg and Ian Whitehead. 


Youth Sailor of the Year – Harry Joyner

Fremantle Sailing Club would also like to congratulate Member and coach, Harry Joyner who was nominated by WAIS and won Youth Sailor of the Year. Harry is a dedicated, fun-loving sailor with great results and training efforts. He has also been selected for the Australian Sailing Futures Squad.


The Club was particularly excited about the win and recognition for the success of the 2021 Fremantle to Exmouth Race & Rally, given the first race was last held in 1991. It is also currently the longest single destination yacht race in Australia, out-distancing Sydney to Hobart by approximately 22-nautical miles. The third race is currently being planned for 2023.


As State category winners, the above will automatically now be considered at the Australian Sailing National Awards, held later this year.

Photos taken by Bernie Kaaks